LOADING...

A classic building, remastered.

The historic Victor
building is the birthplace
of recorded sound.

The Victor building was originally built in the early 1900s for the Victor Talking Machine Company, which later became RCA Victor. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, it served as the production site for the company’s successful and innovative Victrola gramophone cabinets.

At the top of the building’s 75-foot-high tower are four gorgeous stained glass windows – first installed in 1915 – that depict the famous “His Master’s Voice” painting. The trademark image, featuring Nipper the dog looking into a gramophone, was used on-and-off in RCA’s branding and is so iconic that the building is also known as “The Nipper Building.”

In 1986, General Electric acquired RCA and used the building for several years before abandoning it. Over the course of the next decade, the building slowly deteriorated, even joining Preservation New Jersey’s “Ten Most Endangered Sites” list in 1997.

In the early 2000s, Dranoff Properties took interest in the building, recognizing both its history and its potential. We soon began to restore and renovate it into 341 loft apartments, completing the project in August 2003. Looking to maintain the building’s nickname and place in history, we also replaced the old stained glass, which had since been broken, with new, identical windows.

Today, the building is a glowing, beautiful symbol of the story of Camden. It retains many of its most compelling historic details – including oversized industrial windows, concrete ceilings and mushroom columns – striking a special balance between old distinction and modern luxury. Thus, life at The Victor is a unique opportunity to make new memories alongside history.